Call Us: 866.PICK.ITS or Have Us Contact You:
Google+ is going away on April 2, which means all of your Google+ content — including pages, photos, and videos — will disappear with it.
Google announced the shutdown last year in part because people weren’t really using the platform. In December, the company pushed the closure date up from August to April and is asking users to download their Google+ data before it gets deleted.
If you have an account, but never used it (like most of us), you can ignore this. But if you have data on your profile, here’s what you need to do:
Exporting your data doesn’t delete your Google+ profile, so if you want to do that before the official shutdown, you can go to the downgrade page and follow the instructions.
According to Google, the shutdown will take time, which means your content may not be deleted on April 2. However, if there’s anything you care about in your account, go ahead and save it now. Photos and videos backed up in Google Photos won’t be deleted when Google+ shuts down.